Home / Main / Ukrainian metallurgists reminded Volodymyr Zelensky of American duties on steel

Ukrainian metallurgists reminded Volodymyr Zelensky of American duties on steel

Main / Ukraine

The metallurgical lobby of Ukraine called on President Volodymyr Zelenskyy to protect the interests of domestic industry in foreign markets, especially after the US and EU agreed to abolish duties on steel.

Ukrainian metallurgists reminded Volodymyr Zelensky of American duties on steel

Association of enterprises "Ukrmetallurgprom" on behalf of the domestic mining and metallurgical complex appealed to President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelenskiy about the need to resume dialogue with the US government regarding the abolition of the 25% duty on the import of Ukrainian metal products to the American market.

Earlier, the Federation of Employers of Ukraine made a similar appeal to the President, which drew attention of Volodymyr Zelenskyy to the fact that, in addition to the 25% duty, metallurgical products from Ukraine supplied to United States, the United States today has a number of tariff barriers that are an additional obstacle to competition.

OP "Ukrmetallurgprom" has also repeatedly called on the Ukrainian government to get an exclusion from the United States from the list of countries subject to duties. However, unfortunately, as a result of the somewhat uncoordinated position of various institutions of the American and Ukrainian executive authorities, in the past years it was not possible to properly complete the corresponding negotiations with the US Government. It is likely that the restrained position of the United States could be largely due to the difficult negotiations with the EU at that time, which completed successfully October 31, 2021.

"The agreements between Washington and Brussels will have a very negative effect on the Ukrainian mining and metallurgical complex, since domestic metal products on the US market will remain subject to a 25% duty, in contrast to the European one," Ukrmetallurgprom stressed. >

Ukraine is a strategic partner for the United States and the European Union, so it is only natural that Kiev can count on a similar approach from Washington to the issue of steel duties, as in the case of the EU. Moreover, the import of Ukrainian metal products does not hinder or threaten the US national security, since its share in the structure of steel imports in the US is less than 1%.

In addition, given the exceptional circumstances - Russia's aggression, the occupation of Donbass and the annexation of Crimea, as well as in view of the difficult economic situation in Ukraine, it is very important to abolish this 25% duty to provide tens of thousands of jobs for Ukrainian citizens. MMC of Ukraine generates over UAH 35 billion. taxes, and the export of metallurgical products provides more than 26% of foreign exchange earnings in our country.

It is quite obvious that now a window of opportunity is opening for Ukraine, and therefore, in the opinion of metallurgists, it would be advisable to return to negotiations on excluding Ukraine from the 25% duty, replacing it with a tariff quota for the supply of Ukrainian rolled metal to USA.

МЕТАЛЛУРГПРОМ
Сomments
Add a comment
Сomments (0)
To comment
Войти с ВК Войти с ФБ Войти с Яндекс
Partner news
Sign in with:
Войти с ВК Войти с ФБ Войти с Яндекс

Главная / Главное / Украинские металлурги напомнили Владимиру Зеленскому об американских пошлинах на сталь

Украинские металлурги напомнили Владимиру Зеленскому об американских пошлинах на сталь

Главное / Украина

Металлургическое лобби Украины призвало президента Владимира Зеленского защитить интересы отечественной промышленности на внешних рынках, особенно после того как США и ЕС договорились об отмене пошлин на сталь.

Украинские металлурги напомнили Владимиру Зеленскому об американских пошлинах на сталь

Объединение предприятий «Укрметаллургпром» от имени отечественного горно-металлургического комплекса обратилось к президенту Украины Владимиру Зеленскому о необходимости возобновления диалога с правительством США касательно отмены 25%-й пошлины при импорте украинской металлопродукции на американский рынок.

Ранее с подобным обращением к президенту выступила Федерация работодателей Украины, которая обратила внимание Владимира Зеленского на то, что кроме действия 25% -ной пошлины, к металлургической продукции из Украины, поставляемой в Соединенные Штаты, в США сегодня существует ряд тарифных барьеров, которые являются дополнительным препятствием в конкурентной борьбе.

ОП «Укрметаллургпром» также неоднократно призывало правительство Украины получить у США исключение из списка стран, попадающих под пошлины. Однако, к сожалению, в результате несколько нескоординированной позиции различных институций американской и украинской исполнительной власти, в прошлые годы не удалось должным образом завершить соответствующие переговоры с Правительством США. Вероятно, что сдержанная позиция США могла в значительной степени быть обусловленной на тот момент сложными переговорами с ЕС, которые успешно завершились 31 октября 2021 года.

«Договоренности Вашингтона с Брюсселем будут очень негативно влиять на украинский горно-металлургический комплекс, поскольку отечественная металлопродукция на рынке США останется под действием 25%-й пошлины, в отличие от европейской», - подчеркнули в «Укрметаллургпроме».

Украина является стратегическим партнером для США и Евросоюза, поэтому вполне естественно, что Киев может рассчитывать на аналогичный подход Вашингтона к вопросу стальной пошлины, как и в случае с ЕС. Тем более, что импорт украинской металлопродукции не препятствует и не угрожает нацбезопасности США, поскольку его доля в структуре стального импорта в США составляет менее 1%.

Кроме этого, учитывая исключительные обстоятельства – агрессию России, оккупацию Донбасса и аннексию Крыма, а также ввиду сложной экономической ситуации в Украине, очень важна отмена этой 25%-й пошлины для обеспечения десятков тысяч рабочих мест украинским гражданам. ГМК Украины генерирует более 35 млрд грн. налогов, а экспорт металлургической продукции обеспечивает более 26% валютных поступлений в нашу страну.

Вполне очевидно, что сейчас для Украины открывается окно возможностей, и поэтому, по мнению металлургов, было бы целесообразным вернуться к переговорам об исключении Украины из-под действия 25%-ой пошлины с заменой ее на тарифную квоту при поставках украинского металлопроката в США.

МЕТАЛЛУРГПРОМ
Комментарии
Добавить комментарий
Комментарии (0)
Прокомментировать
Войти с ВК Войти с ФБ Войти с Яндекс
Новости партнеров
Войти через:
Войти с ВК Войти с ФБ Войти с Яндекс